First-Time Homebuyer Program

 The Town of Paradise offers a deferred, low-interest loan to eligible first-time homebuyers based on Federal 2014 Income Limits as downpayment assistance to purchase a home.  A first-time homebuyer is someone who has not owned a home in the past three years.  The loan is a “bridge” or “gap” loan meaning that the loan amount is based on the difference between what the borrower can afford and the amount of money needed to purchase the home.  The loan is secured by a note and a deed of trust and does not require monthly payments.  The loan is due in 30 years or when the home is sold; the homeowner stops using it as their principal residence; or the title is transferred out of the name of the original borrower. 

As stated in the First Time Home Buyer Brochure, the first step of the process is to select a lender from the list of approved Certified Lenders.  The lender will pre-qualify you for a loan and determine the amount you can afford on a house.  The second step is to apply for First-Time Homebuyer funds at the Business and Housing Services office at Town Hall. you received an Eligibility Letter, you will work with a Certified Realtorto help you select a home.  Free First Time Homebuyer Programs are offered through the City of Oroville and the Town of Paradise.

 For more detailed information about our program, please refer to the guidelines and loan procedures.

Realtors & Lenders:

Certification Refresher                            

The Disclosure to Seller must be signed at the time of the purchase contract is accepted.  The realtor must then complete an Escrow Information Sheet.  Lenders must complete a First-Time Homebuyer - Program Interest Form.  

The Town of Paradise does not discriminate on the basis race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, or disability.  Know your rights – Fair Housing Act.

Fair Housing Act Icon


Download Adobe Reader








Last Updated on Tuesday, 16 December 2014 11:18


Development Services

Craig Baker
Community Development/Planning Director
530-872-6291 ext. 111 office
530-877-5059 fax

Tony Lindsey
Building Official/Fire Marshal
530-872-6291 ext. 110 office
530-877-5059 fax

Doug Danz
Onsite Sanitary Official
530-872-6291 ext. 113 office
530-877-5059 fax

Marc Mattox
Town Engineer
530-872-6291 ext. 125 office
530-877-5059 fax

Paul Derr
Public Works Manager
530-872-6291 ext. 107 office
530-877-5059 fax

Go to top